The United States women’s national team is set to return to the court for the first time since winning gold at the Tokyo Olympics earlier this month. But the team will do so with an entirely new roster, which will represent the country at the 2021 Women’s NORCECA Senior Volleyball Continental Championship in Guadalajara, Mexico, from August 26-31.

Head coach Karch Kiraly and the 12 players that took gold in Japan were all given a rest and the country will be represented by 14 young players in the tournament, which will qualify the two top finishers for the 2022 FIVB Women’s Volleyball World Championship in the Netherlands and Poland.

“The players are excited to represent USA,” said head coach Joe Trinsey. “For many of them, it’s their first chance to wear a USA jersey at this level, and they want to represent the country well, especially after that incredible Olympic performance.

The North Americans, who have won eight golds in the event so far, will field opposite and team captain Danielle Cuttino, a gold medallist at the 2019 Pan American Cup, and setter Ashley Evans and opposite Roni Jones-Perry, who both won the 2019 NORCECA Champions Cup.

Defending champions the Dominican Republic, who also competed in Tokyo and finished eighth, will play with several veterans in Guadalajara. Looking to secure the country its third title in the tournament, head coach Marcos Kwiek is bringing star outside hitters Bethania de la Cruz and Prisilla Rivera, setter Niverka Marte and middle blocker Jineiry Martinez to the event.

Hosts Mexico, who won the NORCECA Championship in 2017, have their full roster available, including star outside hitter Samanta Bricio and opposite Andrea Rangel. Canada will feature a fair number of players who represented the country in their first appearance at the FIVB Volleyball Nations League two months ago, most notably setter Brie King, opposite Kiera van Ryk and middle blocker and team captain Jennifer Cross.

The tournament will pe played by seven teams split into two groups. Pool A includes the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico while Pool B is composed of the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Costa Rica and Trinidad & Tobago.

Three teams in each pool advance to the elimination round with the pool winners going straight to the semifinals and the second and third-placed teams playing in the quarterfinals. The medal matches will end the event on August 31.