Women's U20 World Championship draw held in Mexico


Lausanne, Switzerland, June 19, 2019 - A draw was held in Mexico on Tuesday to decide the pool composition of the FIVB Volleyball Women's U20 World Championship which will take place in the cities of Aguascalientes and Leon from July 12 to 21.

The four preliminary round pools were drawn as follows. Pools A and D and the tournament finals will be played in Aguascalientes. Leon will play hosts to pools B and C.

Pool A: Mexico, USA, Italy, Cuba
Pool B: China, Poland, Egypt, Peru
Pool C: Russia, Turkey, Argentina, Serbia

Pool D: Japan, Brazil, Dominican Republic, Rwanda

Hosts Mexico will be up against USA, Italy and Cuba in Pool A, while reigning WU-20 champions China will take on Poland, Egypt and Peru in Pool B. Pool C includes 2017 runners-up Russia, Turkey, Argentina and Serbia. The last edition of the competition's bronze medallists Japan are in Pool D with Brazil, who with six titles have won the competition more than any other nation, the Dominican Republic and Rwanda.

The FIVB was represented at the draw by Control Committee President Mireya Luis.

Quick links - Volleyball:
FIVB Volleyball Women's U20 World Championship Mexico 2019 - Volleyball