Intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournament hosts announced


Lausanne, Switzerland, January 30, 2019 - The FIVB is pleased to confirm eleven of the twelve hosts of the FIVB Volleyball Intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournaments to be held in August. The women's tournaments will be played from August 2 to 4 and be followed by the men's tournaments from August 9 to 11.

Women's tournaments - August 2-4:
Pool A: Hosts are Poland
Teams in pool: Serbia, Puerto Rico, Thailand, Poland
Pool B: Hosts are China
Teams in pool: China, Turkey, Germany, Czech Republic
Pool C: Hosts TBC*
Teams in pool: USA, Argentina, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan
Pool D: Hosts are Brazil**
Teams in pool: Brazil, Dominican Republic, Cameroon, Azerbaijan
Pool E: Hosts are Russia
Teams in pool: Russia, Korea, Canada, Mexico
Pool F: Hosts are Italy
Teams in pool: Netherlands, Italy, Belgium, Kenya

Men's tournaments - August 9-11:
Pool A: Hosts are Bulgaria
Teams in pool: Brazil, Egypt, Bulgaria, Puerto Rico
Pool B: Hosts are Netherlands
Teams in pool: USA, Belgium, Netherlands, Korea
Pool C: Hosts are Italy
Teams in pool: Italy, Serbia, Australia, Cameroon
Pool D: Hosts are Poland
Teams in pool: Poland, France, Slovenia, Tunisia
Pool E: Hosts are Russia
Teams in pool: Russia, Iran, Cuba, Mexico
Pool F: Hosts are China
Teams in pool: Canada, Argentina, Finland, China

Pools will be played in single round-robin format and the pool winners will join hosts Japan in the volleyball competition at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. The Olympic qualification process will continue in January 2020 with each of the five continental confederations (AVC, CAVB, CEV, CSV, NORCECA) organising its own Olympic qualification tournament to advance one team each per gender to Tokyo 2020.

The Olympic Games in Tokyo are from July 24 to August 9, 2020.

*To be announced soon.
**The South American Volleyball Confederation will host Pool D

Additional information:
Sights on Tokyo 2020 as Olympic qualification process is laid out
2020 Olympic Qualification System