Anders Mol and Christian Sorum (NOR)

Scheduled to take place from July 24 to August 7, 24 teams per gender will participate in the beach volleyball tournament at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020. The event will be held at Shiokaze Park with matches beginning daily at 9.00 local time (2.00 GMT) and the last match of the day starting at 22.00 local time.

Reigning world champions Melissa Humana-Paredes and Sarah Pavan of Canada will begin their campaign at 12.00 on Saturday against Raisa Schoon and Katja Stam of the Netherlands. The men's world champions Viacheslav Krasilnikov and Oleg Stoyanovskiy of ROC will play their first match on Monday at 10.00 against Mexican pair Josue Gaxiola and Jose Rubio.

Also look out for men's world ranking leaders Anders Mol and Christian Sorum of Norway. They will play Australians Chris McHugh and Damien Schumann in the last match of the opening day. Women's world ranking leaders Agatha Bednarczuk and Eduarda 'Duda' Lisboa of Brazil will go up against Argentina's Ana Gallay and Fernanda Pereyra at 11.00 on Saturday.

The tournament's pool round will take place from July 24 to 31. It will be followed by the knockout rounds including the Round of 16, quarterfinals, semifinals and finals from August 1 to 7.

Download the official list of Olympic broadcasters to find out where you can the watch matches in your country.